Introducing Meat Porter + rib eye steak with chimichurri sauce

Meat in a Box was sadly shelved indefinitely at the end of summer last year. Several things happened; 1) I quit my job and went travelling for three months 2) I came back and cut back even more on meat consumption 3) I’ve started a new job abroad that requires me to commute every week, giving me little time with my beloved kitchen. But sometimes exciting opportunities come along that I can’t say no to.

This week I learned that a fellow alumnus from my college at Cambridge had set up – you guessed it – an artisanal online butcher that delivers meat to your doorstep. Introducing new kid on the block: Meat Porter. Naturally I couldn’t not get in touch with its founder Stefan Porter, and we ended up exchanging several excited and rambling emails talking all things meat. It sounds like these guys have worked out a great foodie angle; with most of their produce coming from the same farms that supply UK Michelin star restaurants, I’m sure they’ll have orders flooding their inbox in no time. Stefan really kindly sent me a taster box to test.

I started by delving straight into a couple of rib eye steaks. A good steak – and these were simply fabulous darling- is the star of its own show and needs neither warm up acts nor fancy dressing. Just serve with a simple salad, punchy sauce and deep glass of Malbec.

Rib eye steak with chimichurri sauce

You will need:

  • Bunch of parsley
  • Bunch of oregano
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp chilli flakes
  • 1 tbsp white wine vinegar
  • Pinch of sea salt
  • 2 rib eye steaks, about 200-300g each
  • Olive oil for basting

Prepare an Argentinian chimichurri-style sauce in advance. Simply blitz the herbs, garlic, chilli flakes, sea salt, extra virgin olive oil and vinegar in a food processor and set aside in the fridge for the flavour to deepen. I like my chimichurri with a super garlicky kick, plus a tartness from the vinegar that causes a face-puckering effect when you taste it… but do make sure you taste and season according to your preference.

To cook the steaks, bring them to room temperature before preparing a smoking hot griddle pan. Brush the steaks with a tiny bit of olive oil, then griddle for exactly two minutes either side for a rare result. Rest for almost ten minutes. I used this time to griddle some large, thickly sliced beef tomatoes, finally adding a slosh of Malbec to the pan to deglaze the beefy remnants and drizzle over the steaks.

Serve with a green salad.

Enjoy a free 1/2 lb of bacon with every order over £40 on MeatPorter.com – use the code FREEB40

One thought on “Introducing Meat Porter + rib eye steak with chimichurri sauce

Share your thoughts

