Three smoothies + a lifestyle update

ABC-smoothie

With the fantastic weather in the UK, I must admit I haven’t been very keen to be stuck indoors, cooking in my tiny, sweltering flat. Plus, a transformation has been taking place over the last couple of months. Perhaps it’s because the prospect of my 30s really aren’t far off; so I’ve had a holistic revamp through a renewed attitude to exercise and what I eat.

Everyone I know seems to be doing the 5:2 Diet, but I’ve invented my own 5:2. Eat like a saint for five days of the week, and let yourself indulge (though not excessively) for the other two. Basically, it’s called eating in moderation 😉 – but as we know for a lot of people this seems to be the hardest thing in the world and they need the constraints of diet rules to ‘stay healthy’. My frank opinion – we don’t need to give the multi-billion dollar diet industry any more money because it’s all BS anyway.

I have simply committed to cutting back on red meat, wheat, dairy, refined sugar and alcohol for my five days of the week and I make sure about 60-70% of my daily intake is plant based and high in nutrients. These aren’t diet rules – it is common sense. It is life-prolonging. I come from a family with a history of cancer. I have watched my grandparents, aunts, uncles and parents all battle with cancer and I’ve come to my senses and realised that – whether illness is hereditary or lifestyle-induced – I owe it to me to try and be the best, shiniest and healthiest version of myself.

ANYWAY, not to sound like a smug so and so but I feel GREAT.

One of the things I’m now obsessed with is smoothies. I will blend almost literally anything. My favourite smoothie? Anything with spinach or kale in it. It tastes so good, and is packed full of antioxidants and iron. So here are three smoothies I created for Farmison:

Iron Boost Smoothie

Melon Smoothie with Almonds

The ABC Smoothie

Let me know if you make any of them!

green-smoothie

Melon-smoothie

One thought on “Three smoothies + a lifestyle update

Share your thoughts

