Lamb Nihari with cauliflower and pea mash

In my previous blog post I talked about ways to lighten a traditional slow roast for summer dining. The theme continues with my take on meat and two veg, based on a Pakistani home cooked dish called Nihari that involves slow cooked lamb shanks. It’s a dish I have enjoyed in the past at my favourite East London curry house – Lahore Kebab House (though I’ve also recently found a viable contender in Needoo’s Grill).

I was inspired to make a potato-less mash out of caulfilower and freshly podded garden peas (in season now) served up with honey roasted Chantenay carrots and a refreshing cucumber and mint raita.

This recipe was created for Farmison.com – get the recipe for lamb Nihari with cauliflower and pea mash.

Share your thoughts

