JD and ginger beer ribs

It’s been a while since my last post – it’s been such a hectic past few weeks! Anyway, this is the last item from my wonderful Farmer’s Choice meat box, and I had a lot of fun making it. The last item was 1kg of pork spare ribs – little did I know when I defrosted them that they were boneless (is it normal to get boneless ribs?!), but I took this as a good sign because boneless = more meat for your money… although some people say that ribs on the bone are sweeter and more fun to eat.

Everything was very improvised and now quite hazy in my memory, so recommended quantities are based on ‘common sense’. First, I marinaded my ribs for a few hours in salt pepper, paprika, cayenne pepper and cumin. Then I rummaged in the fridge for leftovers to make a firey rib sauce: the remaining ginger beer (2 cups) from my pulled pork cheek, and a leftover bottle of Jack Daniels whiskey (1 cup) in the back of my cupboard that was around two years old, possibly a remnant of a band rider!? Brought the liquids to the boil with a dash of sugar and some soya sauce for a sweet, spicy and salty kick.

When it came to cooking the ribs, I simply doused them in the sauce and put them in a preheated oven at 180C for 45 minutes, turning halfway and dousing with more sauce. At the very end, I grilled the ribs for 5 minutes until they were charred and sticky.

Boneless ribs are actually very delicious, though you feel cheated of the pleasure of getting really messy and gnawing at a bone until satisfied it’s been stripped of meat! My worries that the ribs would be dry were allayed as the sauce helped to keep everything nice and moist. For an extra special touch, I would have blitzed some chilli peppers and fresh ginger into the sauce…

Thus concludes the Americana food trend on my blog and the end of the Farmer’s Choice meat box. I wonder what I’ll taste next?

4 thoughts on “JD and ginger beer ribs

Share your thoughts

