Oxtail stew

I’ve been away for a couple of weeks on family duty, but I’m back – with an appetite! Last night I looked in my freezer to pick up where I left off with the Farmer’s Choice meat box. I took the chopped oxtail out, and made a slow cooked stew today – despite it being one of the hottest days in recent weeks and highly inappropriate for hearty fare.

Oxtail benefits from preparation through marinating and slow cooking on a low heat, but as I only had half a kilo of oxtail, no time and a ravenous appetite I reduced my cooking time.

I used:

  • 500g chopped oxtail for stewing
  • 1 tin cannelloni beans
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • Handful of chestnut mushrooms
  • 500ml beef stock
  • Rosemary and thyme
  • Flour

This stew is so easy to make – simply brown the onion, followed by the oxtail and other vegetables. Then add the stock and bring to the boil. I chose not to add any alcohol, but a glass of red wine or can of Guinness go down well! Bring everything to the boil and place in a pre-heated oven at 150C for 90 minutes. If you’ve got more oxtail in there, leave it in for at least two hours.

This was my first time eating oxtail, and the one thing I found was that you really have to chew around the tail bone and everything gets stuck in your teeth! Nevertheless, it made for a good one-pot meal; you don’t even need sides to go with it. I’m going to save a portion of the stew in my freezer for cold and rainy days.

2 thoughts on “Oxtail stew

  1. I have found you can reduce cooking time but have had similar results to you but really with oxtail 5+ hours is required. The meat falls off the bone and it melts in your mouth, so rich and delicious.

Share your thoughts

