Bacon, butternut squash and lentil curry

First of all, apologies for the lack of posts this week. I’ve been completely knocked out by a dreadful cold all week – the kind that renders at least three of your senses useless (smell, taste, sound) and leaves you gasping for breath when you eat because your nose is so bunged up. Needless to say I have had no appetite.

This is a recipe I sort of made up at the weekend, shortly after I started feeling sick. I wanted a wholesome vegetarian curry with the benefits of Laverstoke nitrate free back bacon – yum. I was pretty whacked out when I made this so I can’t recall exactly how I made it, but that’s the joy of a lentil curry or stew. You could put anything you want in it (within reason) and get something edible at the end.

It contains chopped up bacon, one onion, butternut squash, some leftover mushrooms, peas, one cup of puy lentils, 300ml vegetable stock, to which I added ground cumin, ground coriander and turmeric. I still don’t really know how to make a curry using different spices so if anyone could put all their knowledge in that wispy Harry Potter test tube thing and tip it in to my brain through my eye, that would be grand.

I’ve started eating brown rice too, but it’s not comparable to eating white rice, something I used to do everyday for at least 11 years of my life, when I lived in Hong Kong. Eating white rice and Chinese foods is my own form of Paleo diet/lifestyle. Speaking of which, does anyone out there follow Paleo, and what are your thoughts? I’ve been thinking about its benefits, and it makes a lot of sense. I’m already halfway there, by selectively eating grass-fed meat and having a diet rich in vegetables and fruit. I desperately want to believe that you can eat to change the expression of your genes. But whether I can stay away from grains, dairy and sugar is another question.

Don’t forget you can get 15% with any Laverstoke order using my code MEATINABOX.

Share your thoughts

