Chicken skewers with satay sauce

I had leftover chicken breasts from Sunday, when I successfully jointed a Roaming Roosters chicken. While the carcass has gone into a chicken broth similar to this one, I decided to make chicken skewers with a satay sauce on the side. I think chicken breasts are best cooked quickly and in bite size pieces to retain their moisture –  so stir fries or kebabs are ideal. Also key to keeping it moist is a good marinade.

I used the Ken Hom recipe from BBC Food, simply because I happened to have all the ingredients in my fridge. A few enhancements:

  1. I added a touch of honey to my chicken marinade
  2. I didn’t stir fry the chicken like Ken suggests; rather I cooked them the traditional way on skewers. Soak a few skewers in warm water for 30 minutes before you cook to prevent them from burning. Cut the chicken breasts into strips and loop them onto the skewers. Preheat your grill, and put the skewers under the grill for about 3-4 minutes each side until the chicken starts to go golden brown and a little bit charred. My skewers ended up burning and making an awful stink anyway…
  3. I served it with a simple cucumber side, shredded into fine ribbons with my fancy Japanese vegetable peeler

Oh! This was very tasty. I was right about the chicken – it turned out really tender and moist, with a sweet and sticky glaze. I left all the chicken skin on, which made for a delightful treat – it reminded me of chicken skin yakitori skewers that I’ve tried at Japanese restaurants before. And I bet the skewers would have been even tastier done over a BBQ. The satay sauce will look a bit darker than what you find in restaurants, but the addition of black bean chilli paste and raw garlic gives it a good authentic kick. I’m now slightly worried that I ate the equivalent of half a tub of peanut butter…

If you are cooking this, consider squeezing half a lime over your chicken skewers for a final flourish.

Share your thoughts

