Thai beef massaman curry with field&flower stewing steak

It’s been a lovely month with my field&flower meat box. I’ve got two more items to go – one of which was a free 500g pack of stewing steak. field&flower are great in that they do give freebies away regularly, so do check out the website and keep an eye out for offers.

I used my stewing steak with some fridge leftovers to create a delicious Thai beef massaman curry. As with the green chicken curry I made a few weeks ago, I recommend the Mai Siam massaman paste, which can be found in all good supermarkets.

Very simply, I fried some chopped shallots, ginger and garlic in olive oil until soft, then added 2 tbsps of the massaman paste. Then added the stewing steak, which was already diced. Browned the steak all over and ensured it was coated in the paste, then added a tin of coconut milk. Brought it to the boil, added brown sugar and fish sauce to taste, and chucked in some peeled and chopped potatoes. I simmered it for about 30 minutes, but you can simmer it longer and on very low heat for a tender beef texture. Serve sprinkled with crushed peanuts.

Don’t look at my photo too closely as I took it the morning after, and you can see a layer of fat that has risen to the top of the pot and congealed! But it was super delicious, and the stewing steak had lots of lovely tendons that melt in your mouth. I’d always forgotten to add sugar and fish sauce before, but I realise now they bring balance to the whole dish.

It only takes 30-40 minutes to prepare and cook, so it’s a perfect school night recipe.

Share your thoughts

