Godfather meatballs – from field&flower

When I first met my boyfriend Chris, who works in the film industry, he was appalled at how few iconic films I had watched. Since then, I’ve been on a strict diet of classic films, from Pulp Fiction to Bladerunner. Recently, we finished the The Godfather trilogy (yes I even watched Part III), and I was so enamoured with it. I do a mean Don Corleone impression, and I now know a lot of Godfather trivia. My favourite parts were always the parts involving food… you could say that was most of the film. Did you know there are approximately 61 scenes in The Godfather involving food?

This is one of my favourite scenes though – when Clemenza shows Michael Corleone how to cook proper meatballs, Italian style. When I watched it, I knew I had to get meatballs into my next meat box somehow.


So that’s why I added field&flower’s beef meatballs – 8 squashy little patties made from their homemade recipe – to my order this month. In the words of Clemenza, this is how I cooked them:

“Come over here, kid, learn something. You never know, you may have to cook for 20 guys some day. You see, you start out with a little bit of oil, you fry some garlic, then you throw in some tomatoes, some tomato paste, you fry it, you make sure it doesn’t stick, you get it to a boil. You shove in all your sausage and your meatballs, add a little bit of wine, and a little bit of sugar — and that’s my trick.”

OK I cheated and added an onion for volume, PLUS I had no sausages – but apart from that I stuck to his word. They were simply delightful and so quick to prepare.

Clemenza would be proud.

Beef meatballs are £4.53 from field&flower and come in packs of 320g.

6 thoughts on “Godfather meatballs – from field&flower

  1. Looks delicious. Such a simple and heartening meal – and The Godfather… oh my… wondrous film(s).

    Other great food scenes I can think of: Goodfellas (obviously), A Woman Under the Influence (although Chris might not let you watch that because it’s got no guns in it), Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom (monkey brains, apple), In The Mood for Love (NOODLES), Annie Hall (non-cooking scene really)…

Share your thoughts

