Venison and partridge game pie

I can’t believe it’s December already – and time to get really festive! Recently I unboxed my third meat box, a hand selected box of game from the Blackface Meat Company. I’d had this idea of working my way through a whole month of Christmas dinners, but even the Christmas enthusiast in me had to admit that was an over-ambitious idea. Not to mention it might dampen my appetite for real Christmas!

My Riverford box crossed over slightly with the arrival of Blackface, which meant I had some of this amazing haunch of venison still leftover. With that in mind, I decided to cook a ‘hunter’s pie’ using the leftover venison and partridge from the new box. Gasp, cross-pollination! <Don’t cross the boxes…*>. And there’s definitely something very festive about a hearty game pie. (*Name the reference)

For this recipe, I used:

  • Leftover venison, cooked, and cut into bite size pieces
  • 4 partridge breasts (they only amounted to 230g, wee things that they are)
  • Puff pastry
  • 1 diced onion
  • Chopped garlic
  • 1 diced carrot
  • 150g mushrooms
  • 300ml red wine
  • 300ml chicken stock
  • Cranberry jelly
  • Couple of bay leaves
  • Thyme (I used dried, not fresh)
  • 1 egg, for glazing

I first lightly pan-fried the partridge breasts, cut into bite size pieces. They look very similar to chicken breasts and release an incredibly fragrant smell when cooked! Then it was a very simple case of frying up the chopped onion, garlic and vegetables until soft. Added the wine, stock, dollop of cranberry jelly for a rich fruity sauce, herbs and gentle seasoning and brought it to a boil. Then I reduced the sauce to a simmer and added the meat for 45 minutes.

Then I decanted the pie mix into a pie dish – (a traditional Falcon from my favourite shop, Labour and Wait) and waited for it to cool. It’s important to let the pie mix cool or your pastry will collapse! I topped the dish with a ready made puff pastry sheet, crimped the edges with a fork, cut a hole for the steam to escape and glazed with a beaten egg. Then it was into the oven at 200C for 30 minutes.

Ooooh this was a lovely little pie. The white partridge breast had turned a deep brown colour and it tasted like kidneys. Very rich and velvety. And the cranberry jelly and wine in the sauce gave it a fruity and Christmassy flavour. If you try this recipe, you can substitute the meat with anything you fancy – pheasant, rabbit, hare…

The pie served four, or would have if my brother hadn’t wolfed down half of it.

10 thoughts on “Venison and partridge game pie

  1. Who you gonna call? Meatboxers! Delicious looking pie you’ve got there. I love adding jams and jellies to gravy – it just gives it that extra depth, don’t you think? Did you not add any flour to it?

  2. Just out of interest, what’s the average cost per serving on this pie? If I say so myself, I’m a bit of a dab hand in the kitchen and I might try a variation on this recipe.

    • Hey James – the venison and partridge are the only expensive things, the rest are general store cupboard ingredients. The partridge was almost £10 for four tiny breasts. But using leftover venison felt virtuous!
      So for four generous servings, I would say it was £6-7 per serving. Hope that helps.

  3. Pingback: Grilled wood pigeon from the Blackface Meat Company | Meat in a Box

Share your thoughts

