Leftover Riverford brisket fajitas

Sometimes we all need to cheat a bit. Ever since I started my meat odyssey, I’ve enjoyed making a concerted effort to cook things from scratch. But sometimes you just think – ah, sod it, it’ll have to come out of a tin. That’s exactly what I did with my leftover brisket roast last night. I had a fair bit of meat left, and decided to make fajitas. All credit to the ‘world foods’ aisle in Sainsbury’s, where a 3 for £4 deal on Discovery Foods made my dinner process very easy. Ingredients:

  • Shredded organic Riverford brisket, cooked
  • 1 onion
  • 1 avocado
  • Discovery Foods tortilla wraps (I went with wholemeal)
  • Discovery Foods Fajita season & sauce
  • Discovery Foods sour cream

Contrary to first impressions, this blog post is not sponsored by Discovery Foods.

While I browned a sliced onion, I shredded the brisket into as small pieces as I could. The cold meat was rather sturdy – but when you get to the middle of the cut you start to get those fibres that you can rip apart like Cheestrings. The whole cooking process with the fajita season & sauce only takes 10 minutes – then it’s a case of slicing your avocado, applying squiggles of sour cream and trying to construct a tortilla wrap that won’t fall apart in your hands.

Wow! Brisket really works in a fajita. I’ll admit, the brisket roast itself I found a little tough and lacking in flavour. But when you shred it into tiny bits and add sauce, it really does come into its own. What a surprisingly pleasant mid-week meal.

Share your thoughts

