Spiced lamb chops with aubergine salad

And so we are onto our final item from my Well Hung Meat Box. What a journey it has been! The last meaty treat was a pack of four organic lamb chops. The best lamb chops I have eaten are at my favourite East London curry establishment – the Lahore Kebab House – which is just down the road from me. I know we could argue til the cows and lambs come home about whether Tayyabs or Lahore is better but know this: I have always managed to walk in and get a table at Lahore, and sitting on other people’s laps while I dine isn’t really my thing ;).

So re: the lamb chops, I of course tried to recreate the famous tandoori lamb chops that Lahore Kebab House serves. Not having a tandoor oven was a slight hinderance, so I decided to make up my own spiced lamb chop recipe. First things first, I went down to the Bangla City supermarket in Brick Lane. I had never been inside, but I was amazed at how it stocked every ingredient you could ever need for Asian recipes. And cheap too!

I marinated my chops in the following for at least four hours:

  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • Dried chilli flakes – should have been a chopped fresh red chilli
  • Juice of half a lemon

When it came to cooking the lamb, I just whacked them on a hot frying pan for about four minutes either side. Rare lamb chops aren’t all that nice – it’s ideal when slightly pink in the middle with no blood – so I would recommend you grill for a bit longer.

I served them with an aubergine and pine nut salad on the side. One aubergine sliced lengthwise very finely, grilled in the oven, then shredded and tossed with toasted pine nuts and extra virgin olive oil.

The lamb was very tasty and tender, as expected! As with the rump steaks, it had a healthy rind of fat that definitely did not end up in the bin. I must say, this recipe was a joy to cook because of the fragrant cumin smell when frying the chops. I think it gave Lahore Kebab House a run for its money – and though I would like to work out what their exact recipe is, apparently that’s a secret!

A pack of four organic lamb chops from The Well Hung Meat Company is £9.90.

7 thoughts on “Spiced lamb chops with aubergine salad

  1. love it! i’ve bought my own meat box in homage of this blog. so far have only managed chicken thighs with chicken, garlic, lemon and some harissa rubbed on it. and then I did mince and onions the other night!

  2. Pingback: One month on… | Meat in a Box

Share your thoughts

