Sausage rolls with a Thai twist

Nine meat boxes down the line, and I’m starting to wonder how many ways you can make a sausage exciting. I’m not a big fan of them myself – except in two contexts: a sausage and egg sandwich (+ white bread + butter + ketchup), and SAUSAGE ROLLS. A defining sausage roll moment of my life was recently at my dear friends’ wedding on New Year’s Eve. After a long, exhaustingly brilliant night in the brutal Scottish cold, some beautiful, homemade sausage rolls magicked out of thin air to feed the hardcore partygoers. And I tell you, that was hands down my favourite moment of that wedding. Never was a sausage roll so needed and appreciated…

So when I unboxed the sausages from my Farmison box, I decided to give it a go at some sausage rolls. I do love a bit of fusion, so I gave the recipe a Thai twist.

You will need:

  • 450g sausage meat or sausages (plain)
  • One ready rolled sheet of puff pastry
  • 4/5 spring onions – finely chopped, white parts only
  • One red chilli, finely chopped
  • Two garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • Handful of fresh coriander, shredded
  • One tbsp fish sauce
  • One egg
  • Pinch of sugar
  • Sesame seeds

Prepare the oven by preheating it to 180C. Meanwhile, pop all the sausages out of their skins and into a bowl. Next, gently fry the chopped spring onions, garlic and chilli in a pan until softened. Use your bare hands to mix them in with the sausage meat, shredded coriander and a splosh of fish sauce.

Cut the pastry in two, lengthways. Divide the sausage mix into two and make two long trains down the centre of each length of pastry. Whisk an egg for glazing – I added a pinch of sugar because I wanted to create a slightly sweet, brioche-style glaze in a nod to the many Hong Kong style savoury pastries I’ve had in my time. It will also complement the spicy sausage mix very will. Brush this egg down one long edge of the pastry, then fold it over and make sure that it’s tightly wrapped around the filling.

Now brush the egg over the top of the pastry, sprinkle with sesame seeds and cut into bite size pieces. Voila! Now for the thankfully short wait! Place in the oven for 20-25 minutes. I finished the rolls off under the grill for a browner pastry, and just missed out on burning some of them.

Dunk these sausage rolls into Thai sweet chilli sauce, and you will never step into Gregg’s again. There’s something magical about a homemade sausage roll straight from the oven, there really is…

Makes about 16.
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

7 thoughts on “Sausage rolls with a Thai twist

  1. I have been following your blog for ages and have indeed made some of your recipes regular additions to my kitchen repertoire. As a ‘BBC’ I also appreciate the Chinese/Asian fusion in so many of your recipes! But THIS recipe is the one that has finally prompted me to comment – I WANT ONE, NOW!!!

      • Never one to waste time on food, so I made them this evening… My husband who normally dislikes sausage rolls devoured them, my normally health conscious friend ate three very happily, and a friend born and bred in Yorkshire (and therefore raised on sausage rolls) said they were as tasty as his mum’s homemade. Fair to say, they were a great success :). Thanks!

Share your thoughts

