Mauritian-style goat curry

I recently unboxed my seventh meat box from Farmer’s Choice. One of the most exciting things available on their website is free range GOAT. And quite coincidentally, shortly after I bought said goat I read this article on the Guardian – ‘Should we eat more goat meat?‘. It seems the British lack of appetite for goat and veal meat is at odds with our ever-increasing demand of goat and cow products. As a result there is an over-supply of male goats and cows; farms find it more economical to slay them at birth, than to rear them for meat. So here’s my message to you: eat goat! Because it’s good for them and, as I found out, very tasty.

I’ve copied a Gordon Ramsay Mauritian-style goat curry from BBC Good Food (such a wonderful website). I love Mauritian food as my best friend is from Mauritius – every time I go round her house there is an abundance of food; I guess you could describe it as an Indian Ocean mish mash of Chinese, Indian and African flavours.

Now, I must say when I opened my Farmer’s Choice box everything was frozen so I couldn’t see much of what I received. But as the goat defrosted, it revealed a beautiful, purple marbled and super soft texture. It reminded me very much of the Blackface mutton. Although the meat was soft, the goat bone was near impossible to chop through, even with a meat cleaver, so I cut the meat off and tossed the bones into with the curry.

I only made a few changes to the recipe, otherwise you can follow Gordon’s to the tee:

  • Replaced 2 star anise with 1 tsp Chinese five spice
  • Halved number of chillis in the chilli paste (I’m a wuss!)
  • Omitted curry leaves
  • Tossed in chopped okra in the last 20 minutes of simmering

Hey, the kids are alright! <boom tishhh> This goat curry was divine, simply because all the meat had fallen off the bone after 3.5 hours of simmering. When properly slow cooked, goat tastes like melt-in-your-mouth mutton meets beef. I ate it with white rice and a tomato salsa I made up from chopped tomatoes, coriander, crushed almond flakes and olive oil.

1kg of chopped stewing goat on the bone is £7 from Farmer’s Choice.

Learn more about goats via The British Goat Society.

Share your best goat pun or joke below.

12 thoughts on “Mauritian-style goat curry

  1. I can’t wait to move house this year and start getting meat boxes. I’d really like to try goat. This looks incredible and I adore your photos. Considered yourself followed – not in a creepy way…

  2. My brother lives in Dar es Salaam in Tanzania. They eat a fair deal of goat over there. though it tends to be reserved for celebrations. Tasty meat.
    Best,
    Conor

  3. nice one jlau! Goat is DELICIOUS – our local butcher had a shoulder once and we snapped it up, this reminds me though that i have some goat curry made from the leftovers in the freezer, need to eat that! the colour of your meat looks incredible. yum

  4. Pingback: Just pretend it’s BBQ chicken | Meat in a Box

  5. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if
    you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my
    newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  6. Hi there,

    The link for the recipe says that it has expired. Could you please post the recipe and cooking instructions? It looks delish!

  7. I tried this recipe earlier in the summer and it was fantastic. As Lourelle says above the recipe has been removed from the BBC website. Does anyone have a copy ?

Share your thoughts

